The ceremony will be held on March 6 at the Multipurpose building of the Albacete campus


Congratulations to all the UCLM researchers who will be recognized in the Castilla-La Mancha Research and Innovation Awards 2022!

Two of the award winners, María del Rocío Fernández Santos and Carlos Romero Nieto, are colleagues at the UCLM Faculty of Pharmacy and have been recognized for their excellence in their respective areas of research. Dr. Fernández Santos, a tenured professor at the UCLM, will receive the Woman Researcher Award, while Dr. Romero Nieto, a professor at the same faculty, will be honored in the category of Science in the Young Researchers and Innovation category. These awards are a testimony to the talent and commitment to research of the UCLM Faculty of Pharmacy and demonstrate the excellence of its researchers.

The institutional ceremony will take place on March 6 at the Multipurpose Building in Albacete, where 16 awards will be presented in seven different categories, with the aim of recognizing and rewarding effort, quality and excellence in the field of research and scientific activity.

The award winners are outstanding researchers from different areas of knowledge, each recognized for their achievements in their respective disciplines. Mario Gerardo Piattini Velthuis and María de los Llanos Palop Herreros will be awarded in the category of Research Career and Innovation, while Paulino Capdepón Verdú will receive the award in the field of Arts and Humanities. In the category of Sciences, Ester Vázquez Fernandez-Pacheco will receive the award, while in the area of Health Sciences, the award will go to Vicente Martínez Vizcaíno, while in Social and Legal Sciences the award will go to Daniel Balsalobre Lorente. Finally, in Engineering and Architecture, the award will go to Juan Ramón Velasco Pérez.

On the other hand, the awards for Young Research and Innovation went to José Manuel López Torán in Arts and Humanities, Carlos Romero Nieto in Sciences, Juliana Martins da Rosa in Health Sciences, Dolores Utrilla Fernandez Bermejo in Social and Legal Sciences and Cristina Sáez Jiménez in Engineering and Architecture, and the Women Researcher Award will be given to María del Rocío Fernandez Santos, and the Research Group Award to the Biotechnology and Health Research Group (SaBio) of IREC. Finally, the Public or Private Entities Award went to the CNE Hydrogen and Fuel Cells, and the Administration and Services Personnel Award went to Antonio Alfaro Fernandez.

These awards, which confirm people with a very important and nationally and internationally recognized career, are the result of the firm commitment to innovation, research and science of the Government of Emiliano García-Page, which is reflected in the approval of the Science Law, the creation of the Research and Innovation Agency of Castilla-La Mancha, the agreement with the UCLM for research and the Regional Plan for Research and Innovation, which provide for a public and private investment of more than 1,100 million euros in research, innovation and development.

The presentation of these awards is an example of the talent we have in Castilla-La Mancha and of the unequivocal and unwavering commitment of the regional government to innovation and research.